SHA-3 Winner Announced

There's a winner in the contest for the new Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) 180-3, Secure Hash Standard or more simply “SHA-3.″

The winning algorithm is Keccak (pronounced “catch-ack”), created by Guido Bertoni, Joan Daemen and Gilles Van Assche of STMicroelectronics and Michaël Peeters of NXP Semiconductors. The algorithm was one of five finalists, down from an initial pool of 63 candidates back in 2007.

Bruce Schneier previously commented that he would have been fine with "no winner," arguing that the current SHA-2 is not in immediate jeopardy. His own entry, Skein, was one of the finalists.

SHA-0, SHA-1, and SHA-2 are fundamentally different, but there are enough similarities between SHA-1 and Sha-2 that weaknesses in SHA-1 now threaten SHA-2. SHA-1 was cracked in 2005.